Big O Classic 100 Returns to Owosso Speedway with JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour for $10K

Increased Purse and Duel Race Incentive Highlight JEGS Tour Return to Owosso In 2024

Nashville, TN – Officials with Champion Racing Association and Owosso Speedway are pleased to announce the return of the Big ‘O Classic 100 in 2024. The event, scheduled for Saturday, May 25th will serve as the only official tune up for the August 3 Masters of the Pros 185, a marquee $15,000 to win event [Read More]. The Big ‘O Classic is no slouch on the calendar itself, offering a $10,000 payday to the winner and $1,000 to start. Plus, drivers who compete in the Big ‘O Classic in May, automatically earn themselves bonus money in August.

The Big ‘O Classic 100 has for many seasons served as the traditional JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour date at Owosso Speedway. NASCAR Cup Series star, Erik Jones won the first ever sanctioned JEGS Tour event at Owosso Speedway in 2011, holding off Josh Nelms and Chad Finley in the process. The following year, Brian Campbell set his No.47 car on a sight for Victory Lane with Finley coming up one spot short and David Gentile, Jr in third. After a brief hiatus in 2013, the race returned in 2014 and Finley finally cracked the code and won at Owosso. Well-known wheelmen Travis Eddy and Kyle Crump collected wins in 2016 and 2017, and then Crump won in the event’s return in 2023, making him the first and only repeat winner for the JEGS Tour at Owosso Speedway.

A reinvestment in Owosso Speedway has helped fuel the return of the JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour and their high caliber drivers and racing. Last season, Crump appeared to have the race on lockdown throughout the duration of the 100 lap contest, however, multiple cautions, including late race incidents, continued to bring the TK Racing No.71 back to the rest of the field. Dan Leeck and Kevin Cremonesi took their best shots at the former Redbud 400 Champion, but couldn’t get around and were forced to settle for second and third respectively.

In 2024, drivers will not only race for a combined $25,000 to win at Owosso Speedway, but competitors throughout the field will also have a chance to earn additional cash thanks to the Owosso Overtime incentive. Teams who “work a double shift” by racing at both the Big ‘O Classic and the Masters of the Pros 185 will receive an automatic $200 bonus on their purse payout, regardless of finishing position. Meaning, drivers who make the Masters of the Pros 185 will automatically earn $1,400 in start money, rather than the advertised $1,200.

Additional details regarding the 2024 schedule for the JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour Presented by Chevrolet Performance will be announced in the coming weeks. The 2023 season awards will be handed out at the annual awards ceremony on Friday, January 5th.For more information on Champion Racing Association onto Find CRA: Champion Racing Association on Facebook and follow @CRARacing on Twitter.