Majeski Rolls to 35th ASAMT Victory at Slinger

Event Results

By: Kevin Ramsell
Sunday, April 21, 2024 (Slinger, WI) – Five-time ASA Midwest Tour champion Ty Majeski continued adding victories to his impressive resume in short track racing.

The three-time Slinger Nationals winner added another checkered flag at the historic Slinger Super Speedway in Slinger, Wisconsin on Sunday afternoon by winning the Jerry “Bear” Priesgen Memorial presented by Zuern Building 100.

The victory his is 35th win in the Tour on the anniversary of his first race with long time crew chief Toby Nuttleman.

“This place always challenge us,” Majeski said after the race. “We always think we are good on practice day, then we show up on race day and more cars get on the track, its a warmer day. I thought we were good, but didn’t think we were needed to be where to win. We kept working on it, made a couple of adjustments and a small change before the race started, and honestly I didn’t think we had great speed in it. The 17 (Max Kahler) and the 4 (Luke Fenhaus) could run with us in the short run, and as the run progressed we just kept getting better. It was a great run, happy to be back here, it was a pleasure.”

Majeski qualified ninth and with a 12-car invert, he started fourth in the main event.

Max Kahler took the lead at the green flag over fellow front row starter Joe Valento.

The first of three cautions flew on lap five Ryan DeStafano had damage after a collision in turn three. DeStefano shared his displeasure with ASAMT rookie contender Jonathan Shafer.

On the restart, Kahler continued the lead field around the high-banked quarter-mile oval until the second caution flew on lap 21 when Nick Egan got a tap from Jesse Bernhagen coming out of turn two sending Egan into the backstretch wall. Egan’s day was done and Bernhagen was sent to the rear for his involvement.

Majeski worked his way up to second at the time of the caution, allowing him to start on the outside of Kahler on the restart.

The NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series driver didn’t waste his time by taking over the lead from Kahler on lap 22.

The final caution flew on lap 25 when Ty Fredrickson spun going into turn one.

Majeski would lead the field on the final restart leading the last 75 caution free laps with a 6.281 second victory over Kahler.

“I knew we had a good car when we came here, but was a bit of a surprise to show up and be good,” Kahler said regarding his second place finish. “We struggled quite a bit here in the past, never really had a good handle on it and we hit the nail on the head today. I was better than everyone, except the 91, and that is pretty good so I will take it.”

2022 winner Luke Fenhaus took the final podium spot.

“I thought we were alright, just needed it to turn, and that was the biggest thing for me all day,” Fenhaus said. “It’s hard to drive a tight race car and I have had that everywhere. I knew we lacked a little bit to the 91, obviously they kicked our butts today and thank God this isn’t the one we chase all summer. So we will get back to work and find some faster things and get better.”

Alex Prunty, who tied with Levon Van Der Geest for a new record fast time of 11.205 seconds but set the time first and was credited with the fastest qualifier award, worked his way from 12th to finish fourth.

Derek Kraus, who already has two starts with Kaulig Racing in the NASCAR Cup Series this year, finished fifth after battling mechanical issues in practice.

DeStefano held off defending ASA Midwest Tour champion Gabe Sommers to win the first last chance race while Dennis Prunty won the second last chance race over Nick Egan. Those four drivers earned a spot into the main event.

Provisionals were given to Justin Mondiek, Brad “JJ” Mueller, Rich Loch and Riley Stenjem.

The ASA Midwest Tour will be back in action on Sunday, May 5th for the Joe Shear Classic 200 with special guest the University of Wisconsin Marching Band.

Tickets are on sale now at

Today’s broadcast of the Jerry “Bear” Priesgen Memorial presented by Zuern Building 100 is available to watch at