ASA History at Anderson Speedway, Part 2

The city of Anderson, Indiana was the birthplace of the American Speed Association in the late 1960’s, and Anderson Speedway was an integral part of the creation of and growth of the original ASA.

Anderson Speedway will host the next stop on the ASA STARS National Tour Schedule on July 19-20 for the 58th running of the Redbud 400.

“This race (The Red Bud 400) was around a year before ASA even started,” Rick Dawson revealed. Dawson purchased Anderson Speedway from ASA Founder Rex Robbins in 1996, and in fact worked for ASA prior to the speedway purchase. “The first Redbud Race was held in 1967, one year before ASA was founded.”

The legendary Iggy Katona won the first Redbud Race, and the list of drivers who have won the 400 lap grind on the Anderson quarter mile is a who’s-who of the very best short track racers of the ASA era.

Don Gregory, Jim Blount and Andy Hampton were big names in racing in the late 1960’s and were early winners of the Redbud 400. Tiny Lund won in 1974.

Four time ASA Champion Mark Martin won the Redbud 400 four times (1978, 1981, 1985 & 1986). ASA’s all-time leading race winner Bob Senneker won the Redbud 400 on three occasions (1980, 1983 & 1984) as did Scott Hansen (1991, 1993 & 1998).. Short track legend Dick Trickle won the 400 twice (1987 & 1988).

Other big names on the winners list include 1977 ASA National Champion Dave Watson won the Redbud 400 during his title run; 7-time ASA National Champion Mike Eddy won the 400 in 1992; Butch Miller won in 1989 and Alan Kulwicki in 1982.

Beyond its on-track racing events, ASA and Anderson Speedway have held a significant place in the local community. For many years, the city, along with the ASA and the track, hosted the Anderson 400 festival, complete with a mayor’s breakfast, golf tournament and parade through the city streets, ending at the speedway.

The 2024 Redbud 400 is scheduled for Friday and Saturday at Anderson (IN) Speedway. The event will serve as race #6 of the ASA Stars National Tour season. The Redbud 400 will be co-sanctioned by the ASA CRA Super Series.

Hauler parking, tech inspection and practice are scheduled for Friday, July 19. Go Fas Pole Qualifying and the 400 lap STARS Main Event are set for Saturday, July 20.

The return of the ASA STARS National Tour to Anderson will take place in conjunction with Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s huge Brickyard 400 Weekend, and ARCA and NASCAR Truck Series events at Indianapolis Raceway Park. The Redbud 400 start time has been moved back to 8:00PM Eastern Time, allowing fans to make the trek northeast from INDY to catch the Stars and Cars of ASA.

To view the full Redbud 400 schedule, please click here.

For the full ASA STARS National Tour schedule, plus Super Late Model rules and other information, please visit the series website at, or be sure to follow the series on social media (Facebook: STARS National Series | Twitter: @racewithstars | IG: @starsnational).

ASA STARS National Tour

Founded by Track Enterprises President Bob Sargent, The ASA STARS National Tour for pavement super-late model stock cars debuted in March 2023 for Super Late Model racing in America.

The ASA STARS National Tour is a ten-race championship series, offering a $100,000 point fund. The tour will visit ten different race tracks in 7 states in 2024, with the season beginning in February during Florida Speedweeks, and concluding in early November at Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway.

Track Enterprises (TE) is a racing Promotions Company based in Illinois, which owns and operates the ASA STARS National Tour. In addition to the STARS National Tour, Track Enterprises owns and operates Championship Racing Association (CRA) and the ASA Midwest Tour. TE also has a strategic alliance and controlling interest in the ASA Southern Super Series.

ASA Branded Tours

ASA Branded Tours encompasses four (4) pavement super late model racing series operating under the Track Enterprises banner, and under the ASA Brand via a licensing agreement for logo and IP Rights. ASA Branded Tours include the ASA STARS National Tour; the ASA CRA Super Series; The ASA Midwest Tour and the ASA Southern Super Series.