2023 Season Recap – Joe Shear Classic at Madison International Speedway

Over the course of the offseason, we will go back and recap each race of the 2023 ASA STARS National Tour season. The inaugural season featured seven different winners in ten races at ten different tracks, with a points battle that went down to the wire.

Race No.2 – Joe Shear Classic at Madison International Speedway

After its highly-anticipated debut at Five Flags Speedway in March, the ASA STARS National Tour trekked north to the state of Wisconsin for the first of three races in the Badger State. A total of 38 cars were on hand for the Joe Shear Classic at Madison International Speedway, and for the first time cars were sent home before the main event.

For the second race in a row, the Shafer Motorsports No.7 won the Go Fas Racing Pole Award. This time, it was Paul Shafer Jr. taking quick time honors in Go Fas Racing Pole Qualifying, while it was Bubba Pollard and Ty Majeski starting on the front row for the race. Johnny Sauter, Jacob Gomes, Andrew Morrissey and Michael Bilderback transferred from the Last Chance, while Cole Butcher, Austin Nason, RJ Braun and Bryan Syer-Keske received provisionals.

Ty Majeski won the first stage after leading all 75 laps. Three drivers then took turns leading during the second stage, with Jacob Goede taking the lead away from Steve Apel with 18 to go to take the stage win. Goede would hold on to the lead until 20 laps to go, giving it up to Dan Fredrickson. Fredrickson led the final 20 laps and took the checkered flag first, but the race would not officially end there.

Fredrickson was disqualified in post-race tech for an engine infraction. That would give the win to Ty Majeski, his second in the Joe Shear Classic and first since the race was lengthened to 200 laps. Bubba Pollard and Gabe Sommers rounded out the podium.

Joe Shear Classic – Madison International Speedway
Entries: 38
Started: 28
Go Fas Racing Pole Award Winner: Paul Shafer Jr.
Stage Winners: Ty Majeski/Jacob Goede
Lead Changes: 4
Leaders: 4
Most Laps Led: Ty Majeski (95)
Winner: Ty Majeski
Full Results

For more information on the ASA STARS National Tour, please visit the series website at starsnationaltour.com, or be sure to follow the series on social media (Facebook: ASA STARS National Tour | Twitter: @racewithstars | IG: @starsnational).

ASA STARS National Tour
The ASA STARS National Tour debuted in March 2023 for Super Late Model racing in America. Announced in October 2022, many of the best drivers in America will compete in the ten-race national tour with a minimum $100,000 point fund. The championship team will be guaranteed $25,000.

The ASA STARS National Tour is made up of three races from each of the regional pavement Super Late Model Series under the Track Enterprises banner – the ASA/CRA Super Series, the ASA Midwest Tour and the ASA Southern Super Series.

The Team Construction Winner’s Circle program has been announced as a part of the ASA STARS National Tour for licensed drivers/teams with perfect attendance. The program provides additional financial incentives to those teams who support the series.

Track Enterprises, a racing promotions company based in Illinois, will operate the ASA STARS National Tour. It announced the acquisition of Champion Racing Association (CRA) in January 2022 and followed that up with the purchase of the Midwest Tour in July. In October, Track Enterprises President Bob Sargent announced a partnership with the Southern Super Series, which set the table for the formation of the ASA STARS National Tour.