ASA Midwest Tour Prepares to Battle in the “Old Cornfield” This Saturday Night /

ASA Midwest Tour Prepares to Battle in the “Old Cornfield” This Saturday Night

By: Kevin Ramsell
(Jefferson, WI) – Driving between Cambridge and Jefferson, Wisconsin on highway 18 is pretty much a straight line drive in between farmlands and small housing communities. About halfway between the two cities, surrounded by cornfields lies “Wisconsin’s Action Track” Jefferson Speedway.

Since 1952, the track owned by Tucker family has hosted racing events every Saturday night that started with dirt racing transitioning to asphalt racing on its unique quarter-mile oval today.

The ASA Midwest Tour will make its ninth visit to Jefferson Speedway this Saturday night for the Salute the Troops 100. The Jefferson Speedway Sportsman, Hobby Stocks and Bandits will also be in action for this special event.

The Salute the Troops 100 has become a special event over the Memorial Day weekend as it has become a tradition to welcome the active and retired members of the armed forces to come on the track and be a part of a special greeters line during driver introductions.

They will also receive $5 off admission and a $5 concession voucher in appreciation of their service to our country.

Many of the drivers will tell you that Jefferson Speedway is a competitor’s track and provides great two-wide, sometimes three-wide, racing. What makes the track unique is the different lower progressive banking in turns one and two compared to higher progressive banking in turns three and four. Many times, the driver on the inside will have the advantage in turns one and two, but the outside driver will have the advantage in turns three and four, creating close door-to-door action.

The ASA Midwest Tour appeared at Jefferson Speedway during its first two seasons in 2007 and 2008. Nathan Haseleu won his ASAMT event en route to being the first ever champion that year while Jonathan Eilen took the victory in 2018.

After a nine-year hiatus, the tour returned in 2017 with five-time Midwest Tour champion and current NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series driver Ty Majeski winning that event. Majeski is the only repeat ASAMT winner as he won again in 2021.

Majeski will be looking for a third victory this Saturday night.

Three-time Midwest Tour champion and three-time Jefferson Speedway Late Model champion Casey Johnson won the Salute the Troops 100 in 2019. He will be back behind the wheel of his famous #5 car this Saturday night looking for his second ASAMT victory at Jefferson.

In 2018, Paul Shafer Jr. picked up his first ASAMT win at Jefferson Speedway. It was a special victory as it was a win for his crew chief Chris Purdy who grew racing at Wisconsin’s Action Track. Shafer is also hoping for another win on Saturday.

Jacob Nottestad, whose family is all over the history books at Jefferson Speedway, won in 2022 and Dalton Zehr picked up last year’s checkered flag.

This year’s field will include many young drivers who gained their racing experience racing at Jefferson.

Drivers like Bryce Miller, who has won in Midwest Truck Series and Sportsman division. Past feature winners Luke Westenberg and Riley Stenjem.

A talented rookie field will also be in the field this Saturday night including Mitch Haver, Kody King, Braden Berge, Joe Valento, and James Lynch.

Three Kulwicki Development Driver competitors, Ty Fredrickson and Levon Van Der Geest, have already visited victory lane this season. Max Kahler could be one to watch and be a driver hoping to pick up his first ASAMT victory on Saturday night.

Defending ASAMT Champion Gabe Sommers is fresh off a victory at Slinger will be joined by other veterans including Billy Mohn, Eddie Hoffman, Jordan Devoy, Justin Mondeik, Joseph Scholze, Ryan Farrell, Brent Edmunds, and Midwest Truck Series champion James Swan.

Schedule of Events for Salute the Troops 100
1pm Pit Gate Opens
3pm Spectator Gates Open
3pm Practice Begins
4:30pm Qualifying Begins
6pm Racing Begins

Event Ticket Pricing:
Adults: $25
Senior/Military: $20
Youth (ages 12-16): $15
Kids (ages 8-11): $6
Children ages 7 and under Free
Active and Reserve Military get a $5 concession voucher

Divisions: The ASA Midwest Tour will be joined by the Sportsman, Hobby Stocks and Bandits

Location: Jefferson Speedway is located at W8135 US Highway 18 between Cambridge and Jefferson, WI. For additional information visit or call 920-648-2705.

Past Winners ASAMT Jefferson Speedway/Salute the Troops 100
2007 Nathan Haseleu
2008 Jonathan Eilen
2017 Ty Majeski
2018 Paul Shafer, Jr
2019 Casey Johnson
2021 Ty Majeski
2022 Jacob Nottestad
2023 Dalton Zehr